Now I don’t even have the time to watch TV. To be honest, I don’t actually have a television anymore and haven’t sat in front of one in as long as I can remember. When it’s not there it’s very easy to live without. Believe me. But for those who enjoy staying current and watching some of their favorites: I suggest YouTube. Ever heard of it?

It’s the only thing I come close to watching that’s like television – probably because most of it comes from TV. But it’s occurred to me what a great nicotine patch YouTube is for anyone who is trying to ween themselves off television. There are several reasons why watching your shows on YouTube – or any other internet video streaming site, even from DVD – works to your benefit. The other reason is that, in the case of any internet-television, you are already at your computer and have the immediate option of doing something more productive. Even Digg or checking Lifehack.org will seem like a better idea! You can watch five minutes of ‘television’ in between work. Or give yourself half an hour to look up interesting things on YouTube on your break. The flexibility is there and you should use it. Especially if you’re finding yourself rushing home to catch an episode of Sex & The City. What a waste of effort! The Plan Find your favorite television shows on DVD or on the internet. Search them on YouTube or some ‘illegal’ video streaming site. Try watching the shows this way instead of on your television for a few weeks. At worst, you can now schedule your television viewing when you want instead of working around it. Watching what you want, when you want. The best thing that might happen is you realize how much time it can take away from you with no gain. The average person watches 4.5 hours of television every day, quotes SavingAdvice. How Dumping TV Allowed Me to Quit My Job, Create an Online Business and Fund My Retirement Account – [SavingAdvice] What could you do with that time and money? Steve Pavlina experienced an interesting side-effect after giving up television for a period of time: 8 Changes I Experienced After Giving Up TV – [StevePavlina] I can attest to this. There is no longer that crutch to fall back on when you want to do something away from your computer. The funny thing is, talking to people is waaaay more interesting than anything that comes up in a television drama or comedy. And this brings me to my next point. 5 Things To Do That Are Like TV, But Aren’t Do you need it? Do you really want it? In the end, I just ask: Does it really matter what happens to Carrie Bradshaw?

Using YouTube To Quit Television - 60